Readers, why you should go to author events

Matthew Arnold Stern
2 min readNov 22, 2023
Matthew Arnold Stern at Local Author Day in Fullerton, CA. Photo by Donna Judd.
Getting caught up at Local Author Day in Fullerton, CA. Photo by Donna Judd.

Suppose you’re looking for new books to read. You could get Fourth Wing or another Colleen Hoover book, but you want something different. Something outside your typical genre. Something from an author you never heard of before. But Amazon has millions of titles, your local bookstore has shelves stuffed with used and new books, and Costco has just one table with one half children’s books and the other half with bibles, cookbooks, and whatever is on the New York TimesBestseller List that week. How can you find your next read?

Let me tell you about auto shows.

Auto shows are my brother’s thing, but I have gone to a few. The most memorable one for me was the LA Auto Show in 1977. I had just become a licensed driver, and my mom and I started shopping for my first car. We could’ve gone to all the car dealerships in our area, but we’d be limited to what was in stock and get subjected to the salesperson’s hard sell. But at the auto show, we could check out all the new cars, including some that weren’t available at dealerships yet. I could sit in as many of them as I liked. A few were available for test drives. And I could leave with an idea of what cars and option packages to shop for.

You can think of author events as the auto shows for books. You get to meet different authors, listen to them give excerpts from their books…

--

--

Matthew Arnold Stern

A novelist and award-winning public speaker and technical writer. My novels Amiga and The Remainders are available now.