Writing a sympathetic character you disagree with

Matthew Arnold Stern
4 min readNov 6, 2021
Angry man at a protest

Instead of doing NaNoWriMo this year, I’m resuming work on the novel I started last year, Christina’s Portrait. One of my tasks is to add development to a minor character who I feel should have more importance. Here’s how I introduce him:

And when we pulled up in front of his house, we shuddered.

Hanging from the flagpole on his front porch was a yellow “Don’t Tread on Me” flag with the black rattlesnake. On his front window, he had a sign, “Warning! Insured by Smith & Wesson.”

That’s when we noticed the truck in the driveway with a faded “Trump 2020. Make America Great Again” bumper sticker and the rifle rack against a back window that had an NRA sticker on it.

Maya tugged on my blouse. “Let’s get out of here. This whack job is going to get us straight-up killed. He could have been one of those…who stormed the Capitol, for all we know.”

I wanted to agree. Just the Trump bumper sticker made me uneasy. I had to settle myself down.

“We came all the way here. We’re not leaving now.” I straightened my shoulders and rang the doorbell.

I should mention, he’s supposed to be a sympathetic character.

If you follow my website, you know my political views. So, why would I write a sympathetic…

--

--

Matthew Arnold Stern

A novelist and award-winning public speaker and technical writer. My novels Amiga and The Remainders are available now.